Faith

It has come up a few times lately.  Firstly in the beautiful and thoughtful card from the Lovely Ladies and then again from another lovely person who has held us in her prayers through our tough times.

To tell the truth, I have been sorely tempted recently to turn to God and start praying, but I just cannot commit. While I have reasonable doubt (I am effectively a scientist) I just cannot make that leap.  It would feel hypocritical.  It would feel wrong.

I am grateful for their prayers.  Knowing we are in their thoughts and people are doing what they can helps lessen the isolation.

I wish I could pray for her.  Then I would be doing something instead of falling apart quietly in the background.

I wish I could love something bigger than myself and my family.  And I do. Nature and science are powerful magic. 

I wish I didn’t feel so helpless.

3 responses to “Faith

  1. I don’t believe in God, and most organised religion is not for me. But I do think there is something else out there that I can’t quantify. We need to go on an adventure. 🙂

    • Yes, I get the “something” thing too.

      It’s not so much the God thing I don’t like, it’s the whole Jesus and the Bible thing. My brain will just not let me commit to that stuff.

      Ooh, adventure? Stone Henge maybe?

  2. Maybe! Or Avebury circle. We can bundle the hoard up into my car and run away!!

Leave a Reply

