50k

About ten seconds ago I updated my word count.

50,141.

I have done it.

NaNoWriMo.

Holy fucking shitballs.

And I’m celebrating by sitting in a dark room with two sleeping kids.

Now I have an issue though.  The story is not yet complete.  I waffled.  A lot.  Meaning I’m probably only about two thirds of the way through.

Do I put it to one side, chalk it down to experience and stop chasing the stort which has frankly turned a little sour, or plough on, try to finish and keep updating the NaNoWriMo site?

10 responses to “50k

  1. Congrats! I’m only 5k away so I’m hoping to hit it tomorrow! 🙂

  2. Keep going, you’ve worked so hard + fast!!! This is the last slog. You can do it x

  3. YES! Keep going. Plenty of time to edit later. Well done you, that is a PHENOMENAL achievement. Am absurdly proud of you 🙂 x x x

  4. It’s very easy to say ‘keep going’, I’m not in your shoes. I think you need to weigh up how you feel now, to how you might feel in the future if you don’t carry on. If you’re like me, if you stop now, you won’t go back.
    Also, I know you have an emotional link to your main character. Do you want to finish it for her?

    • yeah, I know I’ll never come back to it once I’m done. I do need a small buffer too (they can lose words during the validation process which I haven’t done yet.)

      I do kinda want to finish it for the character, but I know how it ends and my poor, nutty headcase doesn’t. It’s feeling a bit incomplete right now.

      OH did buy me chocs and a card for doing it though.

      How’s NaBloPoMo?

  5. Missed this yesterday – but commented on fb. Can’t believe you’ve written over 50,000 words, that is phenomenal!

    I’ve tagged you on a linky if you want to join in. Hurry up and return to twitter! x

Leave a Reply

