How I’m dealing with NaNoWriMo

Ok, so, bar the obvious stressing, drinking too much coffee, shouting too much at the children, not enough housework etc etc, this is how I am doing it.

1) procrastination.  Yep.  I’m doing everything but writing what I should be writing.  Like now.

2) writing in small 10-20 minute chunks and saving it in two places online.  I’m using catch (www.catch.com) and wordpress for a wordcount.  I get 300-500 words done per chunk and currently have 45 chunks.

3) writing while feeding when I can’t do anything else.

4) sweary character.  She swears. A lot.

5) long first names eg: Hannah Jo, Stephanie Ann, Becky Louise etc.

6) I read somewhere about not writing contractions.  I vary this as sometimes it just stilts things.

7) lots of description.  I’m over describing. 

8) just writing.  I hate where my story went.  My main character is mental, but I’m still writing for her, talking her out of the knots I gleefully knitted.

9) not worrying about the reader.  I’m writing drivel.  It doesn’t matter if no one reads it.

10) word sprints.  I follow @nanowordsprints on twitter and try to do a couple of them a day. 

I also find that although it is slower, being able to write on my phone makes it easier and more practical to find time to write.

So, there you have it.

Procrastination

4 responses to “How I’m dealing with NaNoWriMo

  1. This is TOTALLY a stupid comment… but lol that number 8 turned into a smley.

Leave a Reply

