Bedtime battles part 2

Yes, I am a hypocrite. Aren’t we all in some way?

We managed to stop the teeth cleaning issue by letting her just clean her own teeth with added “instruction” from us on how to brush.  It appeals to her independent side.  It works. For now.

We currently have a much bigger problem.  She won’t go to sleep.

We put her in her bedroom at 7.30/8ish.  The stairgate is across the landing so she has the freedom to come and go as she pleases.  This has always been the case.  Before we’re even down the stairs she’s on the landing.

This is the second time we have been here.  Only now she climbs the bannister.  There’s a 10ft drop onto the stairs below.  This cannot happen.

It’s got steadily worse this week.  Saturday it was around 9pm she eventually stopped messing about.  Last night it was 11.30pm.  Four hours of running around, shouting, crying, going into the other bedrooms.

We have tried a lot of methods with her (she’s been in a bed a while and is going through a regression.)

The Supernanny method (putting her back in bed silently.) – she loves this.  Thinks it’s the most hilarious and fun game ever ever.  She can play for hours.  Seriously. Huge fail.  Usually she starts crying after a couple of hours so you end up doing “Cry It Supernanny.” Yeah. Bullshit.

The move further from her bed method – mummy’s in my room?  Yay mummy can play!  Again, she loves this.  A parent in her room? Hours of fun and frolics. She can talk nonsense about stuff for eternity.  This is a great way to waste a week or twos worth of evenings to no avail.

Cry It Out – I hate it.  I mean I really hate it.  We did it when she was younger because we had no choice (she would scream for two hoirs before sleep regardless of what else we did.)  The thing is, it does work.  She does eventually go to sleep.  Last night we ended up moving the stairgate from downstairs to across her bedroom door then letting her get on with it. All after I had voiced my opinions of CIO on Twitter. 

So she slept after screaming for an hour and hanging off the newly placed gate saying she’s a good girl.

There are a multitude of issues with CIO other than stress levels and emotional damage, the most telling being that it is not a permanent fix.  It can’t be.  We’ve done it before and it buys us a few months of lovely bedtimes then we’re back to the shit we had last night.

We’re out of ideas now. We’ve lost our evenings to her.  I’m getting depressed about it.  I don’t want to do CIO.  It’s the worst thing for me to hear. I need my evenings to do homework and housework (seriously, our house is a hardcore mess.  How our lodger puts up with it is beyond me!) and massages.  OH and I get no time to repair our slightly broken relationship and I don’t get to work my way through the “to finish” pile.  Then I end up feeling like Crying It Out.

Sigh.

4 responses to “Bedtime battles part 2

  1. Oh. My. Word.
    Call in supernanny for starters; let her meet the child to defy her method!
    I have no knowledge of sleep in toddlers, I have no advice. Just lots of admiration for you – and not even swearing in the blog – I think I’d only be able to swear after just one night of it!

  2. averagemummysaz

    Have you got a sure start centre near you? We attended a sleep clinic earlier this year at ours. Our toddlers sleep problems put such strain on us We where at breaking point relationship wise- it really was that bad. Clinic helped! They gave us a form of the stay in room technique, but they have a lot of info and support on hand, plus it’s free!

Leave a Reply

