On smoking

I’ve read a few articles recently relating to smoking in cars.  I’m not brilliant at keeping up with the news but I already knew that the ban on smoking in a car was being considered from watching This Morning.

I am an ex-smoker.  I smoked for ten years and (this may cause outrage) for the first 8 weeks of my first pregnancy.  I then woke up one day and decided I didn’t want a ciggie…ans haven’t had one since.  That’s not to say I haven’t been tempted, but I’ve managed to control my urge.

Before I switched to roll ups permanently, I would smoke while driving. I always found rollies a bit unpredictable so smoking while driving was risky.  I would smoke in a stationary car though, believing that the space inside the car was my own personal space.

And that is precisely the point.  I bought the car, I paid the extortionate road tax, I was ripped off by the insurance company and now the government wants to tell me what I can and can’t do?

I understand the risks of smoking and driving and how having an alight stick in your hand can be as distracting as being on a mobile phone.  I don’t like seeing people smoking with children in the car, but I don’t feel the need to preach to them about the health risks.

I don’t know how far this law will stretch when it comes in in Britain, but I’m hoping they don’t say no smoking in privately owned vehicles at all as I believe this to be encroaching on human rights.

Ok, so the message is don’t inflict your smoke on non smokers..but that should not extend to taking away the option to drive somewhere away from it all, rest in the car alone and have a ciggy.  Surely that would be the vehicle owners choice, not that of an over ruling government.  They’ve already banned smoking in the workplace, which, if you work from home, extends to whichever rooms you work in.  It all seems an extremist preventative measure.

Leave a Reply

