An exam? Really?

On Friday 22nd of July OH took an exam. ITIL foundation.

There was little to no drama about it and I’m pretty sure I only found out he was taking it about a week before.

We have to do the same exam where I work, but we get a five-day residential course and huge build up.

It surprised me the amount of drama there hadn’t been about this exam.  And then I realised that this was part of the self-absorption I’m suffering from for having to look after two children.

First of all I don’t remember him mentioning the exam prior to this week. He must have known.  Maybe he did mention it and I just wasn’t listening for whatever reason.  Then I wasn’t really there to offer support.

Since having the Toddler I’ve felt like there was a limit to how much attention, help, backup and even love I can offer other people.  Now I have two babies, I’m spread even more thinly, devoting day and night to ensure they both have what they need yo be healthy and happy.

It’s strange because OH seemed to accept my non-involvement and disinterest in the exam but can’t understand my limited emotions.  Being so disinterested and detatched has caused me massive concerns though.  If I have managed to distance myself so much from OHs life then why are we carrying on as a couple? Ok. I know new babies cause a shift in focus but surely a distance this substantial is cause for concern?

By the way, he passed the exam with 85%.

3 responses to “An exam? Really?

  1. Both hubby and I work in IT too, and where once we would talk about all things IT over work, these days I think I must zone out or something, I have no idea what he’s doing some days. That’s because I am thinking about sleep, bottles.. Even twitter! I think it’s a normal thing from being knackered!

    Congrats to hubby, I did my ITIL few months back too 🙂

  2. Pingback: Out in the cold – Guest post by Jarvisio from latexpoultry | Deskmonkeymummy's Blog

Leave a Reply

