Preparing for baby

My waters broke with The Toddler about an hour after we got the keys to our current house.

I’d picked up the keys with OHs mum and we were looking round making notes ready for the decoration party that weekend.  I was a week away from my due date and didn’t really think about being early.  Well, I went to the toilet and thought I’d wet myself. Then shortly after realised I still needed to go.  Bugger.

So I phoned the midwife and carried on regardless for two days before being induced.  The party went ahead without us being here and thanks to a combined effort by all parents, the house was ready a week after we came out of hospital.

This time we are not moving. The OH is changing jobs, and the timing could have been better, but there are some things you can’t help and we don’t like to do things by halves!

Instead we are just being blatantly disorganised.  My bag is not packed, despite baby being engaged.  We have not finalised arrangements for The Toddler when the time comes.  We haven’t got the moses basket down from the loft.  The cot is in pieces.  The baby room is still covered in crap.  All the small baby clothes are in a chest of drawers at OHs parents house. Our double pram needs a bit of TLC.

This is how NOT to be prepared.

Leave a Reply

