Potty training…

Ok, so a lot of mummies will have done this without shouting about it on the internet, but they are not me and this is my blog so ner ner ner!

We tried The Toddler with a potty ages ago as she had horrendous nappy rash and even wearing a nappy was irritating her poor bum.  With luck more than judgement we managed to get her to wee on the potty.  Since then, lots of things have happened and we’ve had no other signs that she was ready so we left it.

Until Thursday.

It was sooo hot that I ended up stripping her down to her nappy.  She removed this promptly and when her dad produced the potty she shouted “potty!”  Credit to our wonderful childminder here as we haven’t exposed her to the potty for a while.  I know some of the older kids there are currently in training and she is such a mimic!

Well, I recognised the number 2 face and succeeded in getting the potty under her.  First potty no 2! I had a lot to do that day so sadly we had to retire that idea.

Friday, she came into our room at 6.40am (omg, I hate this time in the morning!) dropped her pj bottoms and exclaimed “potty!”  Being so early, it was a bit much for me to start running round after her.  I’m well aware that consistency is the key with these things, but we encouraged her to take a morning nap in our bed and grant me a rare lie in.  I know, at least three rules broken in one morning, however it was so nice to have a well behaved child for the remainder of the day.

Then today.  She didn’t want a nappy on this morning so we spent our time following her around with the potty and asking whether she needed a weewee or poop every five seconds.  She’s fairly vocal and responded with either a yes or a no each time.  I got her to wee in the potty this morning after asking her, but then she wet herself.  She looked so forlorn, and immediately came over and hugged me.  I told her it was ok, its just wee and her daddy cleaned it up with a nappy.

We then spent the majority of the day in the paddling pool where it didn’t matter too much which bodily functions she had.

Long and boring post about pee…

But, as she knows what she has done when she has done it and she can answer yes and no to the potty questions with quite a bit of success, we’re hoping the age of nappies for her should be ending relatively soon.  Yay!

Leave a Reply

